

Contact: Christopher Robins The Michael Russell Group (310) 939-9024 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## 10 JUDGES ANNOUNCED AND 48 COMPETITORS SELECTED TO COMPETE FOR \$250,000 IN CASH PRIZES AT 2009 JOSÉ ITURBI INTL MUSIC COMPETITION

LOS ANGELES, May 4, 2009 – 48 competitors have been selected to participate in The Third Annual José Iturbi International Music Competition at UCLA this summer, it was announced today by Donelle Dadigan, President of the José Iturbi Foundation. The competitors were selected from hundreds of applicants in 39 countries.

The José Iturbi Foundation's competition awards the largest cash prizes (more than \$250,000) of any classical piano and singing competition worldwide. Some journalists have described the competition as "Classical Idol" since the competition gives cash prizes for "people's choice" awards in addition to the prizes voted by the ten "world class" judges. The José Iturbi International Music Competition will take place June 15-20 at UCLA's Schoenberg Hall. Sponsors of the 2009 José Iturbi International Music Competition International Music Competition, California Bank and Trust, The Hollywood Museum and Steinway & Sons.

Matthew Epstein, Daniel Pollack, Carol Vaness, Eduardo Delgado, Bruce Sutherland, Vladimir Viardo, Oxana Yablonska, Marvelee Cariaga, Sharon Daniels and Robin Thompson and have been confirmed as the 10 "world class" judges for the event.

The 24 piano competitors are:

Konstantin Alexeev, Russia Rabiga Dyussembayeva, Kazakhstan Wael Farouk, Eqypt Goran Filipec, Croatia Karen Hakobyan, Armenia Mudi Han. China Xu Han, China Vladimir Khomyakov, Russia Stanislav Khristenko, Russia Alina Kiryayeva, Ukraine Viacheslav Kiselev, Russia Alexey Kudryashov, Russia Dmitri Levkovich, Ukraine Giovanni Doria Miglietta, Italy Ksenia Morozova, Russia Rustam Muradov, Russia Julia Mustonen, Finland Emi Nakaiima, USA Anna Shelest, Ukraine Jia Shi, China Yekwon Sunwoo, So, Korea Chetan Tierra, USA Krystian Tkaczewski, Poland Alexander Vasadze, Georgia

The 24 vocal competitors are:

Jose Alvarez, countertenor, USA Jonathan Beyer, baritone, USA Amanda Crider, mezzo-soprano, USA Leah Crocetto, soprano, USA Natasha Flores, mezzo-soprano, USA Rhoslyn Jones, soprano, Canada Jessica Julin, soprano, USA KyungTeak Lim, baritone, So. Korea SooJoo Lim, soprano, So. Korea Audrey Luna, soprano, USA Ani Maldjian, soprano, USA Kelly Markgraf, baritone, USA Heidi Melton, soprano, USA Lauren Michelle, soprano, USA Knarik Nerkararyan, soprano, Armenia Yannick-Muriel Noah, soprano, Madagascar Narine Ojakhyan, soprano, Armenia Rebecca Sjöwall, soprano, USA Kevin Thompson, bass, USA Karen Vuong, soprano, USA Amber Wagner, soprano, USA Tamara Wapinsky, soprano, USA Nicholas Zammit, countertenor, USA Maolin Zhang, bass-baritone, China

Photos and biographies of judges and a list of competitors can be viewed at <u>www.joseiturbifoundation.org</u>. Tickets are available at the UCLA Central Ticket Office (telephone: 310.825.2101). To go directly to the Iturbi ticket page at UCLA Central Ticket Office:

http://www.ticketmaster.com/promo/aogg42?camefrom=CFC\_UCLA\_SPECIAL

# # # #